Is It Magic Realism or Is It Fantasy?

News and Musings From Violet Hills Productions

I write across multiple genres. Recently, my Contemporary Western Romance, Western Song was published by Solstice Publishing. Straight forward. Not a hint of magic, magic realism, or fantasy anywhere there. I greatly enjoyed writing Western Song, and am so appreciative of Solstice. And here’s the best part. They publish multiple anthologies throughout the years, so multiple opportunities for their authors to create new work. Their newest anthology is Fantasy.  I wrote a short story for that one, and wow! What fun it was to be back in the “magical” realm again.

I love working with that “sixth” dimension in my writing. It causes my imagination to soar.  Working again in that realm, I ruminated anew on the differences between Magical Realism and Fantasy. Writers live in a word of categories arguably more now than ever before. So how do you know whether what you are writing is Magical Realism or…

View original post 643 more words

Leave a Reply

